Gaming hedonism: unboxing Breath of the Wild’s Limited Edition

I didn’t plan on buying The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild’s Limited Edition. Well, I did, and then I didn’t. As soon as the special editions had been first announced, I skipped straight into my local EB Games and put $50 down. Perhaps not the most canny decision, in retrospect, for the Master Edition had not officially been added to EB’s system, and, as the morning would reveal, it would not be added. Instead, Australians had to settle for a Limited Edition, which had all the contents of the Master Edition, minus one of the initial lures: the Sheikah Slate case. Furthermore, the Limited Edition was to remain a Switch-only bundle. Now, I don’t know if it simply didn’t meet Australian safety standards, or the Australian branch of Nintendo has some deep-seated grudge against the Sheikah, or what, but I was ropable. I subsequently cancelled my preorder, and attempted to suppress my disappointment with the knowledge that I would still buy the game, come release day. The bundle swiftly sold out. Me, and it, were apparently simply not meant to be.

Or so I thought.

Weeks later, EB released another shipment of the bloody things, and, being the hedonistic, preorder culture-enabling sack of shit that I am, I took it as a sign, and swiftly threw my money at Nintendo like the simpering charlatan they obviously knew me well for. Even though I still had absolutely no plans or means by which to get a Switch. Magpie-like, I simply craved the sensation of owning those trinkets.

Except come release day, Nintendo did a Nintendo and opted to sell Limited Edition bundles on their eBay store page for $99.95 AUD, without a copy of the game included. Cheers. Really.

All garrulousness aside, though, I was left pretty contented with my purchase, and here are some of my impressions:

The box:

Featuring the same gorgeous art as the game’s physical box art, the Limited Edition shows off the wider area, wrapping around the sides. It’s breathtaking in how it alludes to the scope of the actual ingame map. The side panel briefly lists the contents, with the only differentiation from the Edition with the game is that it lists the Switch cartridge. The back is virtually the same as the actual box. I quite like how the top tabs also continue the wider artwork, but dang, those tabs were difficult to open without nearly decimating the box itself.

The interior:

First impressions are important, and for the most part everything came in one piece and securely fastened. The left hand box dominating most of the space belongs to the Master Sword statue, with the right hand side being devoted to everything else. The right hand insert slid out, revealing the CD inside. Perhaps the Square section holstering the poster could have been more reinforced, as the poster may have been flattened a bit (as can be seen) in transit, but thankfully it was fine. I’m not sure if the Sheikah coin had its own little separate compartment or what. It was just floating at the bottom. Just chilling.

The coin:

APPROXIMATE MEASUREMENTS: 3.8cm in diameter (1.5 inches, excluding clear case).

I’m not entirely sure what Nintendo’s predilection for collectible coins is. A good luck charm? Half-hearted reimbursement for all the coins you’ve thrown at them over the years? In any case, the coin itself is weighty, although it’s difficult to ascertain its material composition without taking it out of the clear case and besmirching it with my greasy paws.

The poster:

Approximate dimensions: 28cm x 49.7cm (11.02 inches x 19.56 inches)

I don’t know what Nintendo’s definition of ‘A3’ is, but this, strictly speaking, isn’t it. Okay, I’m being pedantic about it being slightly longer than expected. But I digress. A quick unrolling in the opposite direction assuaged any fears that this might have been squashed in transit. It has a nice, matte finish, weighty and a little coarse, similar to drawing paper, which lends itself to the feel of being aged and handcrafted nicely. One side has a faded and smudged map of Hyrule, with the regions scribbled faintly on, whilst the other has the mural of Zelda and Link in battle with Calamity Ganon from a previous ingame age. My only gripe with this is that I cannot, for the life of me, definitively pick a favourite side!

IMG_2076

The CD soundtrack:

I find it somewhat paradoxically amusing how Bravely Second’s sound selection came in a hard case and had a minuscule number of tracks, yet this baby has what amounts to the entire soundtrack, and came in a cardboard sleeve. Credit where credit is due, though, I was pleasantly surprised at how many tracks came on the CD, as the sound selection really does encompass most of the music in the game. Mediocre packaging aside, this really is an excellent soundtrack.

The Master Sword statue:

Approximate height: 25.5cm (10.04 inches, including base)

Perhaps the most anticipated item of all in all the Special Editions across the globe, the hallowed Master Sword, immortalised here, was what I was most anxious about. To my surprise, the statue itself is better made and painted than I thought it would be, and more substantially weighted, especially in the base. From the hilt, to the blade to the Silent Princess popping up next to it, on the whole, it is nicely painted, with negligible faults. The overall roughness has been enhanced by the material, which is appropriate, considering the events of the game itself. Secured firmly in polystyrene foam and packaged in a minimalistic white box, the statue proved to be the highlight of the lot, and it should be a worthy edition to any Zelda fan’s collection.

Final thoughts? Well, not a lot, as it’s 12:32am and I’m exhausted. But this Limited Edition is a decent one, and should prove increasingly difficult to come by in the wake of the game’s meteoric release. Should you be looking to pick up one for yourself, keep an eye out for prices, as anything about $200-$250 AUD not inclusive of postage begins to border on exorbitant. Not that that’ll stop some fans!

Well, I hope you’re enjoying Breath of the Wild! I, for one, can’t wait to share and hear the varied experiences we’ve all had!

Don’t go riding too many bears around Hyrule!

X!

 

Leave a Reply

